Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Go with the FLO or or just say NO?

Go with the FLO or or just say NO?

Okay so I am applying for a FAC for .243 so I can go stalking.
    I have had a SGC for 15 years.
    I have also passed my DSC1.
    I am hoping to have permission to do 7 days stalking over the next year with a friend on approximately 700 acres who will also be happy to be a mentor.
    I am have also booked some paid stalking with well known well experienced professionals.
    I have no fire arms experience other than this so I have also enlisted a local coach to teach me to shoot a rifle as well as joining the local full bore club.

I have spoken to the FLO thinking that I would be helpful and pro active in trying to put all of the above together in order to try and overcome any restrictions that I am likely to encounter. I think this is perhaps where I have gone wrong! After a chat on the telephone with him he is now saying that for the period that I am being mentored I would only be allowed to go out with the mentor named! This is not helpful as you can imagine. I have a few other friends that stalk, though not enough to mentor me but who will be happy to take me out on a day here and a day there. All are experienced and have open certs. I would also like to do a few paid days in order to get me experience and exposure levels up!

So now I have spoken to BASC who have advised me to tell the FLO when he visits that his request is going against the home office guidelines and the ACPO guidelines and to dismiss the idea of both mentoring and naming a mentor.

Its a real shame as to me I am happy to have a mentor who will after a year testify that I have enough experience and am safe to shoot alone but feel that naming any one as a mentor that I hope to shoot with over the next year is just impractical.

So my question is should I go with the FLO or do as BASC suggest and say no.
    What are your experiences in saying no?