Thread: .22-250 Newbie Advice Needed.

.22-250 Newbie Advice Needed.

Hi all just looking some advice from you reloading experts. From my previous posts you probably no I'm new to reloading. So I have just finished reloading my first few rounds of ammunition for my rifle. Below is the stages that I took. If anyone could take a look and see if I have done something stupid please let me know.

1 - Inspected the brass (PPU Once fired) and deprived the primer.
    2 - Resized the neck
    3 - Cleaned the primer pocket
    4 - Chambered the edges of the brass both inside and out
    5 - Another visual inspection of the brass
    6 - Primed the new primer
    7 - Charged the case with Powder ( VihtaVuori N135) I loaded 5 at 26.5 grains and 5 at 27grains
    8 - I then seated the bullet ( Hornaday A-Max 52 GR BT A-Max ) the bullet was seated to 58.40mm give or take a few hundreds of a mm in each cartridge.
    9 - Final inspection, record loads etc

I would appreciate if you could point out anything that I have done wrong. Two more questions.

1 - On my Die set it gives me the Maximum Overall Length, I have kept my overall length below this, is it a case of altering the length to find out what works best in your rifle?

2 - When I was measuring the powder I was checking the amount of powder in the case 3 times each time I weighted it there was slight differences for example 26.5 , 26.4 , 26.6 would the 0.1 of a grain have an effect on the cartridge.

many thanks for talking the time to read the post and any feedback is greatly appreciated.

1.case length??? Always check new and used
    2.where did you get the data from ie powder weight max and min loads
    3.the coal wants to be spot on each time
    4.powder should be spot on each time
    Are you using electric scales????
    Don't expect one hole groups on the first load you use took me a lot of hours and its hole on hole now.