Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What would you guys do in this situation?

What would you guys do in this situation?

Okay so I have been told I can shoot 2 or 3 muntjac off my normal shooting permission for the freezer. There are plenty about on the land in varying places so it 'should' not be too difficult.

Now as you know I am still a novice so need experience of stalking on the ground so to speak and this will give me the opportunity on land I know well.

In this situation would you go out and shoot the 1st deer that presented a shot, stalk the ground for a while assessing the numbers before taking a deer or be more selective and see if there was a good head wandering about? Bearing in mind this is not about management and will make no impact on the numbers, it's just the farmer saying yes I can shoot some for my own consumption/recreation,

Cheers

Stratts
    Follow my stalking journey & SD sponsored DSC1 progress blog here

DSC1 forum sponsorship - Blogs - The Stalking Directory

If your limited on how many you can shoot, i would be inclined to take your time, see whats about, do lots of stalking and once you cant resist any more, shoot one..

Do what makes you happy Stratts, as you say its not about management, so it really doesn't matter.
    If you are only going to have the chance of a few, I would make them count personally, no harm looking around the place, taking a bit of time to see whats there first, if there is a nice buck, well, why not? more meat, nice memorable trophy for the wall..... don't rush it though, otherwise you'll have shot your 3 or 4 deer before you know it, and then be itching for more..
    ENJOY!
    Opinions are like arseholes....... we all have them, and most of them stink