Thread: Hello from Cumbria

Hello from Cumbria

Hi everyone, i'm hoping to take up deer stalking in 2014, so any information would be greatly appreciated.

1st question if anyones reading.

i currently hold a shotgun certificate, if i wish to take up deer stalking should i first sit the DSC1 then look for land and then apply for FAC or apply for FAC first??

Thanks

​Neil

Quote Originally Posted by nwalker View Post
    Hi everyone, i'm hoping to take up deer stalking in 2014, so any information would be greatly appreciated.

1st question if anyones reading.

i currently hold a shotgun certificate, if i wish to take up deer stalking should i first sit the DSC1 then look for land and then apply for FAC or apply for FAC first??

Thanks

​Neil
    Hello Neil,

I'm relatively new to this game as well. I did my DSC1 prior to applying for my FAC. My thinking was that the DSC1 qualification demonstrated that I had taken the time and effort to learn the basics of stalking. I used the DSC1 certificate to support my FAC application since the shooting test demonstrates that you have a degree of proficiency with a rifle, in terms of safety and handling. As you will no doubt read on the SD, people are divided on the efficacy of the DSC1.

Personally, I really enjoyed my DSC1 course. It gave me a foundation to build on. I now hope to progress and gain more practical experience. You can arrange stalks with the use of estate rifles which would at least allow you to try some different rifle calibres too.

No matter what you decide, good luck.

​Scott
    Last edited by Cernunnos; 22-09-2013 at 16:31.

Hi and welcome to SD hope you get a lot of info from her I did, I already had a FAC for a .22 before I got a .243 so I was lucky so I did my DSC1 after stalking but it worked for me, what ever you route you take just take it slowly and ask lots of questions you'll get plenty of help on here bazil