Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .243 reloading

.243 reloading

Can anybody give me some advise on load data for my .243. I'm new to reloading so have nothing to go on. I currently shoot hornady 95 grain sst factory loads and I'm looking to get a load that has very similar characteristics to this.

hav e a trawl here for any load data .243 Winchester @ www.reloadersnest.com

but what ever load you decide to go with , please work it up for safeties sake
    Official Sponsor to Team GB F Class

It depends what you are going to be shooting, if just for foxes then the sierra 70g blitzkings are a good choice, this is some rounds I made yesterday and tried today

5 shots, nearest to the bull was a fowling shot, then 4 in 1 group,
    the recipe for that was
    70g blitzking
    38.6g vit n140
    fed primers
    norma brass

Quote Originally Posted by Pigeon_shooter View Post
    Can anybody give me some advise on load data for my .243. I'm new to reloading so have nothing to go on. I currently shoot hornady 95 grain sst factory loads and I'm looking to get a load that has very similar characteristics to this.

I load 95grn nosler hunting tips. 44.5grn N160.hornady brass and federal primers. Oal 68.5mm. If you try this work up too it. It is right on top end of suggested max load.
    Always think before you pull that trigger.

Quote Originally Posted by pablo.222 View Post
    I load 95grn nosler hunting tips. 44.5grn N160.hornady brass and federal primers. Oal 68.5mm. If you try this work up too it. It is right on top end of suggested max load.
    I also use this load & it's very effective with Nosler 95gn ballistic tips. However I use Rem 9 1/2 primers and my OAL is 2.490" measured using a comparator. ATB
    Blaser K95 Luxus Kipplaufbüchse .25-06Rem. Zeiss 8x56, 110gn Nosler Accubond = Game Over!

Thanks for the tips lads, gives me something to look into. There is so much to consider when reloading. How did any of you decide what powder to use ?