Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What do you consider essential stalking equipment

What do you consider essential stalking equipment

I'm brand new to stalking and am just starting to accrue the necessary kit. I have the clothing, rifle and knife. I'm looking at a few pairs of binos at the moment. I have a stalking trip arranged for November which will be in mainly forestry. I'd be interested/grateful to hear of what additional pieces of equipment you chaps put in your pockets/back packs etc to make life easier whilst stalking. Any advice on anything that I can make or acquire to make my introduction to stalking would be greatly appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by Legolas View Post
    I'm brand new to stalking and am just starting to accrue the necessary kit. I have the clothing, rifle and knife. I'm looking at a few pairs of binos at the moment. I have a stalking trip arranged for November which will be in mainly forestry. I'd be interested/grateful to hear of what additional pieces of equipment you chaps put in your pockets/back packs etc to make life easier whilst stalking. Any advice on anything that I can make or acquire to make my introduction to stalking would be greatly appreciated.

You'll be fine with what you've got and your Elf eyes are far superior to any binos that exist mate.

​ But if you want to be successful, tell the dwarf and the lanky bloke to take off their rattly armour before you go out.
    Owning a gun or knife and not using it, is akin to not sleeping with your girlfriend to keep her neat and tidy for the next bloke.

Plenty of range work to begin with and plenty patience. But saftey at all times. The only way to learn is by doing, try John at YDS in east Yorks you will not go wrong with him.