Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: steel shot..... for a 16 bore.... ouch!

steel shot..... for a 16 bore.... ouch!

Ok, can anyone enlighten me on a few points.
    I shoot 16 bore, and need to get some non toxic for duck... .but just looked at the prices!! Wow! Starting point (and these are just quotes)37.50 and finished at well over 60 quid..... A box! The gun is not steel proofed as far as I know (haven't checked the proof yet) so:
    A/ is it going to shag it putting steel through once in a while?
    B/ reloading- got to be worth a go, surely and therefore what's the best way of going about-it''ll only be a once in a while thing and I have never done it before.
    C/ get a cheap 12 bore that I don't really want, but at the same time.... Good excuse!!!
    Your thought are appreciated.
    Last edited by fangler; 03-11-2013 at 22:19.

Hi Fangler,

The prices are a bit ugly! I think Ely VIP Bismuth would be a good bet, this may be what you have been quoted, at 37.50 from Just Cartridges. I recently had to get some rather niche squibs for my game gun, I ordered at about 4.30 one afternoon and had them before lunch the next day.
    I understand Bismuth is softer than steel and will not harm barrels, they are loaded with a fibre wad, it would be plastic wad I think if they were as hard as steel. I believe they are loaded to standard pressure too, so you do not have to have a steel proofed gun.

Regards

​Alex

Thanks chap. Yeah, that is what I was looking at. Question is, can I get it cheaper? Call me tight but 37 quid for 25 shots is bloody expensive!! I tend to miss!

No problem.

I am blessed with a similar level of accuracy! I expect none of your mates shoot a 16, you could split a flat then.
    If nothing else it should sharpen your game .

I've only met one other 16 bore user in the field! Just looked at the price of shot. 60 odd quid for 1 kilo of bismuth shot. Hmm. Still not very cheap!