Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Travelling to Ireland Co Cork Game Dealers? Sika activity?

Travelling to Ireland Co Cork Game Dealers? Sika activity?

I am travelling to Ireland tomorrow and will hopefully catch up with some Sika on a friend of mines land, it is my first time there and might need a game dealer in the Bantry area but the Irish Golden pages only list three in the country all miles away! Does anybody know of somewhere more local or do I just go to the local butcher?
    Also I was meant to be over for the rut but dew to a cock up with my paperwork I am much later than expected. What are the Sika up to at the mo? the ground is open in the middle of coilite forestry. Will the stags be coming out of the wood feeding up post rut or will they be staying in the wood eating acorns etc?

Any help much appreciated George

I think it is nearly impossible to answer this without knowing the ground and the animals. Sometimes my sika stay in the woods all winter and sometimes they just vanish and I can't find a pattern to it so even knowing what they did last year might not give you much of a clue. Unless you know there are going to be lots of them on the ground then take any chance you get as the first one you see might be the only one.
    For self catering accommodation on the Isle of Lewis please visit:
    http://www.7south.co.uk/

Quote Originally Posted by caorach View Post
    I think it is nearly impossible to answer this without knowing the ground and the animals. Sometimes my sika stay in the woods all winter and sometimes they just vanish and I can't find a pattern to it so even knowing what they did last year might not give you much of a clue. Unless you know there are going to be lots of them on the ground then take any chance you get as the first one you see might be the only one.