Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 308 loads

308 loads

I have asked the same question on the reloading forum, but thought I might get someone else in this topic.

i am new to reloading and am in the process of getting my kit otgether.

I have got Varget, CCI primers and nosler partition heads 150gr, loading into my old rem cases, any suggestions and tips on laods etc. Obviously i will look at chart and spec, but value others knowledge?
    JP

Check out all your brass, same headstamp/ once fired etc, all cut to length/sized etc? until you feel like you are getting into the swing of it, check weigh loads often, some powders don't run consistently through metering kit, make sure locking rings are nipped up on dies all simple stuff but if not attended to your info/data produced can be near worthless Steve.

Forgot to mention, If you have some time on your hands, have look at Chuck Hawkes web pages, if the answer isn't there you will have trouble finding it elsewhere!

I won't offer a bit of help until I hear that you have purchased, and READ, a good book on reloading. I recommend "Modern Reloading" by R. Lee. It is the most useful reloading book on the market and will teach you reams.

I mean, how can we offer "tips" when we're not certain you have the basics down?? ~Muir

Muir,
    I did mention it on my post on the reloading forum, but please be assured I am not an idiot, I already have completely read Lees book before even the first piece of loading equipment arrived and have just finished the ABC book of reloading. By the way Lees book would be a lot better without the constant adverts and about 100 pages shorter!

I was hoping for advice from people with experience, something you cannot learn from a book, now I have most of the kit and and am thinking about approaching my first loads. If this satisifes your crietria I am open to any advice you may have?