Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 243 tight in Krico - Is neck bump die the solution?

243 tight in Krico - Is neck bump die the solution?

Hi all, I have been reloading for my Krico for several months now and cannot overcome a problem with extremely tight brass chambering. The OAL is correct and the round is definitely not touching the lands, however it always requires a real effort to lock the bolt down. No probs with factory ammo.
    The reload is neck size only (Lee collet die) and shows no signs of over pressure. (35grn N140, 87 grn, Vmax head at 10 thou off the lands - set using a Hornady OAL gauge). I don't have this problem with any of my other rifles.
    The Krico shoots lovely and is a nice light rifle but I just cannot get over this problem.
    I showed it to a mate at the range last weekend and he reckons that a Redding neck bump die is the answer.
    Been loading for as long as I can remember (the good old days of handguns) but never had anything like this or heard of a neck bump die.
    Anyone else had similar problems with tight chambers?
    thanks
    steve

What length are you trimming brass to???

Neck sizing is great but after doing it a few times you may still need to full length resize so as to set the shoulder back slightly.
    It's the calibre of the shooter that counts not the calibre of the rifle.

I suggest you full length resize your brass every time and then you can concentrate on your shooting. Regards JCS

Quote Originally Posted by stecad View Post
    Hi all, I have been reloading for my Krico for several months now and cannot overcome a problem with extremely tight brass chambering. The OAL is correct and the round is definitely not touching the lands, however it always requires a real effort to lock the bolt down. No probs with factory ammo.