Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seems to be quite a few deer in our woodland :)

Seems to be quite a few deer in our woodland :)

I have 7 acres of woodland attached to our little farm that we bought this year. We know there's deer around as we've startled the odd one when walking the dog and seen a few crossing the fields. In the past few days, while walking round the wood, I'm starting to get my eye in spotting deer slots and realising that there must be quite a few going through. Today I found what looks to be a pathway they use, followed it from one side of the wood to the other and found an obvious point that they're using to cross the boundary bank. Not sure what type they are, I'm still learning to id them, but have seen what I'm fairly sure are a couple of roe deer crossing out of the woods in the past.

Should give me lots of learning opportunity watching them while I'm applying for my FAC and getting some experience with stalking under my belt before attempting to bag some next year. Need to put a high seat in and just spend time down there waiting and watching for them. Interesting to see how your start seeing new things in the woods as you get your eye in and start learning to see things that are already there but that you used to just walk past unseeing.

Think I've a fun year ahead of me

have fun and enjoy, just dont overshoot

You could also put a trailcam out mate. I love using mine and the kids can't wait to see what we get on film too.

But you're right you have a fun time in store so enjoy it,

Stratts
    Follow my stalking journey & SD sponsored DSC1 progress blog here

DSC1 forum sponsorship - Blogs - The Stalking Directory

Enjoy it mate, and as said don't over shoot !

Quote Originally Posted by mr_magicfingers View Post