Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: skin/butcher roe 3hrs

skin/butcher roe 3hrs

I love my me time in the garage, radio on, can of beer opened, deer hanging and a sharp knife in hand.

Yes it takes me 3 hours to skin, butcher, bag and label for freezer and then clean up.

And its time well spent, with steaks ( some for tea that night in a baguette with onions, mushrooms and melted blue stilton ) hmmmm!

More steaks, haunches, mince, stewing steak, off cuts and bones for the dogs and then the rib cage for the foxes. Happy days

how long does it take you? Good job I don't shoot that many 10 - 15 / year

craggy

to be honest 3 hours isn't bad, its hard for amateurs like us who only do a hand full every year to get close to the pros in the butcher shops who do it day in day out. A friend of mine who was a butcher by profession had a red skinned and butchered ready for packing in 30 mins. usually it will take me around 1 1/2 hours but that's because iv been doing a few more than usual lately.

Enjoy the venison!

Mo.

If you take pride in the way you do things you will take longer ... nothing wrong with that.
    https://www.justgiving.com/John-Slee/
    "He who kills sow with piglets empties the forest of boar" My neighbours dad on new years eve 2011.

Don't waste those ribs! BBQ roe spare ribs are a cracking starter.
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not using it in a fruit salad.

Amateurs practice until they get it right. Professionals practice until they never get it wrong.

Good grief i would not pick my knifes up if i had a beer had to grow new knuckle skin to many times and that’s without beer.

Not to long never actually timed my self the cleaning up usually takes longer especially if the mincer been used