What've we got in the woods then?

mr_magicfingers

I know that I have deer in our patch of woodland, I've seen a couple in there before, I startled 3 roe in the adjoining woods last week and I've been recognising trails through our own 7 acres now that I'm learning to look for them. This morning, while walking the dog, there were some new slots, the rain this past week washes everything away so these must have been from last night. I think they're roe slots but would appreciate confirmation or an alternative as I'm new to hunting/stalking etc. The knife is 12cm long. I've set up our new trail cam so hopefully have some pics of the culprits in the next few days. Bought the trail cam to help with deciding where to put the high seats.

IMG_3429_zps90d387c4.jpg

IMG_3430_zps0e989b40.jpg

Hi there mr magic fingers the bottom photo look more like roe prints to me,
but now you got your trail cam up it wont be long till you find out for sure would species you do have
Keep us informed it will be nice to know the out come. Mason

I don't think it's boar, but I do have areas where pieces of fallen wood have been chewed, such as these

IMG_3339_zps7468688c.jpg

IMG_3338_zps9e6d7856.jpg

and here you can see one of the tracks through the woods and one of the points on the bank where they're coming in

IMG_3361_zpsc98526d6.jpg

IMG_3363_zps4e38ff1b.jpg

it had never occurred to me that there might be boar but now I'm googling for boar sign and wondering if perhaps I do have them, I've seen a few places where the ground has been scuffed up, I thought perhaps the dog was digging down but there's been enough that perhaps it might be boar. I'm finding google results about boar released in our area.

Given that I've go my FAC application in at the moment, it might lend strength to my request for a .308 :) Will have to see what the trail camera shows up.