Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time with Sikamalc

First time with Sikamalc

I have just returned from a stalk with Sikamalc in West Sussex. I am a complete beginner on the stalking front, having been taken out by a friend just before Xmas, so this was only my second stalk. Malc is a very knowledgeable chap and easy to talk to. We started out dropping Andy of at a high seat, then we walked through the forest to a ride and waited for a while. We did not see anything except a cow, which got my muscles twitching as I caught the movement out of the corner of my eye. Mind you it was not surprising as any deer with any sense was under cover in the dry.
    We moved deeper into the wood, and waited near a high seat, but the deer had more sense. Malc then suggested putting me in a high seat, so back to the pickup to go to another section of the wood. Was taken to the high seat and I sat there for about 30 minutes, before it started to get a bit too dark. Oh it was really starting to rain now. Got back to Malc's place, to find him and Andy already there. We chewed the fat a bit, then it was time to leave. I enjoyed the afternoon even if the weather was a bit suspect and met two nice blokes. Thanks

I spoke to Malcolm this morning and heard how the weather was against you, it happens I'm afraid. Better luck next time.

Did you hear that Andy shot the lone Rangers horse, he claims it was a white fallow

John
    A clever man knows his strengths, a wise man knows his weaknesses