A dogs life and Death, and how it changed Mine

I thought I would share a story for those Friday night fellows taking it easy. I am sure many of you dog owners can relate to this story. I am a bad writer so I am sorry for the bad wording ahead of time.

The life of my bird dog Abby Tekoa Smith.

12 years ago in Washington Michigan, in the back of a dusty barn my father and I found a box full of English setters, a bred line known as Tekoa Sunrise setters. I was 13 years old, fresh out of hunters safety and the thought of a furry hunting companion was as exciting as getting my first shotgun (Remington youth 870 20 gauge). We picked the only chestnut colored pup in the bunch; she was also the only one crying obnoxiously the whole time I held her (typical women thing!) “Thank you Larry” my dad said and we drove her home to Troy. My mother being a huge anti-hunter thought Abby was created by the devil himself and did not want to have anything to do with her. Which was fine with us! My little sister somehow won the battle of naming her Abby, which turned out okay.
A couple weeks later after school, I rode my bike to the underpass of I-75 interstate, trying to catch a G*damn pigeon…and yes pigeons are way too fast to try and catch by hand. Luckily they forget they live under a busy bridge and when I flushed them they flew into oncoming traffic. Worked out nice I’d say (not for the peoples cars though). I filled my pockets with a couple of mangled birds and headed home. I threw one in the grass and let Abby after it. With her little wobbly legs she stopped in her tracks, head down, tail up and LOCKED. It is still to this day one of the coolest acts of nature I have ever seen.
The first few days we noticed she had a bad limp, which is a big concern for a bird dog owner. We had to make a decision to keep her and hope it was not genetic, or trade her in for another. We thought hard and my father said “she just seems like the right one for us”. We decided to gamble.