Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Advanced marksmanship test - deer management course

Advanced marksmanship test - deer management course

Just a quick report about a meet of the North-Cotswolds Deer Management Group, yesterday, at the Criggion Estate in Shropshire, which we chose as it has such an excellent firing-range and training facilities.
    Some fourteen of us did a 'mock' advanced marksmanship test. Our experience ranged from almost complete novice to very experienced/DSC2 holders. The test followed the same course of fire as the real thing - just two shots allowed to test zero, followed by nine shots from various positions at deer targets at various distances from 50 to 150 yards, including awkward angles from high seats and timed sequential shots.
    The feedback afterwards was particularly critical of everybody's muzzle awareness while on the range, and it was quite a shock to learn that if the test would have been for real only two out of fourteen would have passed.
    It is up to the reader to draw a conclusion from that - either the test is quite hard, or deer stalkers from Gloucestershire are particular bad marksman and pretty dangerous as well. Or maybe a bit of both. It is quite a miracle that anybody of this DMG actually manages to cull any deer at all, ever.
    But seriously, it was a great day and we all learned a lot, made some new friends and all present were keen to get some more advanced marksmanship training at a future day. Many thanks to Gamekeeper/Shooting Tenant Jonathan Archer and his wife at the Criggion Estate for the hospitality; Joe, our brilliant RCO and fire-arms instructor; and Steven, his charming assistant.
    If you want to find out more about the North-Cotswolds DMG please email north-cotswolds-dmg@hotmail.com for more information.
    • Do not be seduced by the marketing-men....

I don't think that the stalkers in Glos are any different to others in the country. Never met a perfect stalker yet!!