Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BDS level 2.

BDS level 2.

I recently bought some items from the BDS. Within the packaging were some leaflets showing some of the training provided.
    I see BDS offer a 2 day level 2 course for 500 or their about. To me this seemed to give a conflict between BDS and their AW's. Not to mention the strange idea that it's good to "get it done" in 2 days. Surely these AW's put alot of effort into being AW's. I know they are not supposed to charge for witnessing, but it does give an edge to their offering of stalking if they witness your paid stalk. Now there in competition with the very organisation they belong too.

I'm fairly new to stalking but have completed both level 1 and 2. Not because I want a piece of paper in order to say "i'm a good stalker" but because I realized there was alot to learn and alot to do poorly if out in the field with little knowledge. I paid for many days out with a number of PH's. Some I preferred to others but all people with considerable knowledge for me to tap into before completing a 4 day level 1 course with Donnington Deer Services. Yes I had 4 days of travel costs, 4 days without earning any money (self employed) and a not insignificant cost. However I learned more than I would have from just reading the book, and left with the confidence I could cull deer in an effective, humane way and keep the carcass edible.

Having level 1 opened up the chance to join a syndicate, which I did and stalked for around a year putting in some 30+ days on the ground. So I had now some experience, whether it be the right way or not I didn't know. What I did know was that at the beginning of my stalking I made many mistakes leading to few deer on the ground, a large dent in my pocket and not a lot for dinner. By the end of the year my success rate had improved dramatically. So something must be ok.