Thread: Scope

Scope

HI CHAPS,setting my scope just got my T3 light with schmidt bender scope so moa x widage where to begin with the turrets , i know i could take a couple of shots and go from there but these scobes cannot be set back to zero i think, i am new to rifle shooting allways been shot gun ,so please give me a bit of leeway thanks robshooter

Oxfordshire, Wiltshire, Berkshire....and Sutherland
    View my Gallery (19)View my Gallery (19)
    Quote Originally Posted by rob shooter View Post
    HI CHAPS,setting my scope just got my T3 light with schmidt bender scope so moa x widage where to begin with the turrets , i know i could take a couple of shots and go from there but these scobes cannot be set back to zero i think, i am new to rifle shooting allways been shot gun ,so please give me a bit of leeway thanks robshooter
    Rob

When I mount a new scope I always start by setting the turrets to their middle settings. Then mount the scope. Then boresight. Then start on the paper. Once zeroed replace turret caps (stating the obvious, but the number of times.....)

I am sure a search on here (or on the wider web) will find a tutorial on zeroing.....here's one (G Ammo) though strangely I've yet to find one that mentions setting the turret adjustments to their middle setting first.

willie_gunn
    Last edited by willie_gunn; 14-03-2014 at 07:48.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us to see oursels as ithers see us!

Rob I am a shotgun man too, therefore simple. This has always worked for me. Fix the scope, take out the bolt and place the rifle on a solid rest.

Look straight through the bore at a fixed point about 100m away. Without moving the rifle look through the scope, and adjust it until the cross hairs are on the same point you can see through the bore.

Did this with a new to me 30 year old gun and well used scope last weekend, and the shotwere within a foot of the point of aim at 100m.

Then you can start adjusting

Will