dead deer

boom boom

hi all im a train driver from glasgow ,over the past 2 or 3 weeks during the snow iv counted roughly 30 to 35 dead roe deer killed by trains 3 alone today ,its not unusual to see them at any time but with this snow they stick out a mile ,now im talking about astretch of line from glasgow to edinburgh glasgow to dunblane glasgow to falkirk not a lot of track when you think of the rest of the track in britain so how many deer ar possibly being killed by trains
you here about fatalitys through rta ,that can be calculated by insurance, police reports ,etc but has anybody (dcs,bds,basc)ever tried to work that one out :eek: on the other hand iv seen 14 fox and 3 buzzards

cheers tam

They must be getting confused by the wrong sort of snow............. or are they attracted by the fluffiness of the snow?? :lol:
Sorry, couldn`t resist.
Seen a few dead dogs on the line, as a kid that really shook me up.
I can imagine you`ve seen some sights in your job.
basil.

I saw a train coming in to Darlington a few weeks ago with a big dent in the front and clarret all up the front; god alone knows what it hit.

Dave

Boom boom

I was thinking this the other day, I was looking though the BUGLE data base analyzing Reliability data. I could run a count when I am back in work and get exact figures of reported deer collisions for the FSR fleet in Scotland.

ATB

Tahr

I'm afraid that I don't know anything about railways but this is quite interesting. Are the dead deer hit by trains or electrocuted? I think electrocution was a big problem for badgers. JC

JC275 said:
I'm afraid that I don't know anything about railways but this is quite interesting. Are the dead deer hit by trains or electrocuted? I think electrocution was a big problem for badgers. JC

I'd think it was a bigger problem for giraffes :D

Mainline stuff uses overhead power cables unlike the tube...