Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GWP stud question

GWP stud question

My local vet wants to use my 16month old GWP to cover his bitch. Neither of the dogs have mated before, I have no experience with this sort of thing (Vet does).
    As this is his first time, can I charge a stud fee?
    If so how much?
    Can I request a pup?
    I appreciate any advice given.
    Pete

Hi

If the mating is successful of course you can charge for your dogs services, good GWP pups are going for 600 to 800. So the choice is yours take a pup or stud fee.

Has the dog been checked for any illnesses associated with GWP's , most owners of the bitch there wanting lined will ask for this ? The vet may come in handy for that !!! Just make sure your happy with your dogs traits and abilities etc etc and get everything agreed before the mating happens saves any hassle later down the line.

Deepocean.
    The parents are VWD clear with good hip scores.
    I have not had him checked as I didn't intend to use him as a stud dog.
    I use him for picking up with my working cocker at some prestigious shoots in the are.
    As far as temperament is concerned, he is very sound, not aggressive, slightly soft, and very affectionate.
    He has excellent marking abilities -watching birds until they exit the field.
    Good stamp of a dog without being too big.
    Thanks for your advice.
    Pete

Quote Originally Posted by Sprocket1 View Post
    Deepocean.
    The parents are VWD clear with good hip scores.
    I have not had him checked as I didn't intend to use him as a stud dog.
    I use him for picking up with my working cocker at some prestigious shoots in the are.
    As far as temperament is concerned, he is very sound, not aggressive, slightly soft, and very affectionate.
    He has excellent marking abilities -watching birds until they exit the field.
    Good stamp of a dog without being too big.
    Thanks for your advice.
    Pete