Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Full of myself.

Full of myself.

To some of you this is going to seem silly, but I am really proud of myself. I am no mechanic. I hate working on autos and see it as a necessary evil... and usually if a job is too complicated I hire someone.

The last week of evenings I have spent installing a new timing chain and guides on my 1986 Toyota 4x4 pickup. (Hilux to you guys) When I bought it there was an audible timing chain rattle that ultimately turned out to be the chain tensioner having gone tits up. I've had the parts for a few months but needed above freezing temps to induce me to start.

I've finally I got it done. I replaced the chain, sprockets, timing chain guides (with steel ones) chain tensioner, the timing chain cover (new) the oil pump, the water pump all the hoses and the belt. Replaced the distributor cap and rotor and plug wires as well. Today I adjusted the valves and double checked the timing. All is good so far: No leaks. No problems after 4o miles of driving.

Like I said, to the more mechanically inclined this is nothing. For me? It was a big deal! ~Muir

Quote Originally Posted by Muir View Post
    To some of you this is going to seem silly, but I am really proud of myself. I am no mechanic. I hate working on autos and see it as a necessary evil... and usually if a job is too complicated I hire someone.

The last week of evenings I have spent installing a new timing chain and guides on my 1986 Toyota 4x4 pickup. (Hilux to you guys) When I bought it there was an audible timing chain rattle that ultimately turned out to be the chain tensioner having gone tits up. I've had the parts for a few months but needed above freezing temps to induce me to start.