Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about shooting followers

Question about shooting followers

Watching the shooting show last night got me thinking about shooting followers. (This is not a thread slagging off the show as I genuinely am not sure what the norm is!)

The stalker was out at the end of his Doe cull to try and get a couple last minute before season end.
    He came across a doe, with two followers. One definitely a buck I'm not sure about the other and proceeded to shoot them both, while he left the adult Doe alone as she never presented a shot, other than for the camera.

Now my query?

Is it not a bit late in the season to class a Roe buck that is almost a year old a follower? Especially when it's only a few days until the buck season when he could shoot it anyway.

As a noob I would have thought the doe would have been priority as part of a cull plan?

Is there a certain time (ethically or best practice) that you cannot or do not shoot bucks out of season as followers?

The whole follower thing confuses me a bit if I'm honest and I need to get my head round it for next season, when I'm going to be managing the Roe more for the landowner,

Cheers

Stratts
    Follow my stalking journey & SD sponsored DSC1 progress blog here

DSC1 forum sponsorship - Blogs - The Stalking Directory