Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which small cal centerfire ?

Which small cal centerfire ?

Hi guys ,
    I'm just renewing my FAC and want to put a small centre fire calibre on. I do vermin /rabbit/fox on a number of farms and one particular ex MOD site where I would like to reach out a bit further on the rabbits but still be able to take fox if required.
    At the mo .17hmr is good but I would like something a bit better in the wind and that I can reach out 2-300yds with. The other thing is I am not 100% happy shooting fox with it, it's not enough gun. .17hmr is not a cheap round , I can probably reload for not far off once set up.
    I am no expert on the different calibres but it seems that 17 rem , 17 fireball and 20 tac are the main ones.

So my question is and I apologies because there are quite a few factors to take into consideration which is best?

The factors that I think are most important are:

1. Availability of rifles
    2. Ease of reloading (availability of components etc)
    3. Ballistics / terminal effect
    4. How noisy are the compared with HMR

Any help and advice much appreciated.

ATB George

17 rem

1, Not so easy to source, a new one has to be built.

2, Easy to reload components readily available

3, Banjo string trajectory to 300yds

4, Very loud muzzle blast easily sorted with a mod.

Fantastic cal for long range vermin control like I said not easy to get unfortunately but worth the effort to find a good used rifle or re barrel a tikka/sako/Remington action..........

Terminal effect devastating for rabbit/corvid/ and fox out to 300yds easily.
    Last edited by dlz90; 06-04-2014 at 08:43. Reason: add information

222 is by far better than any 17

20 tac but then I'm gonna say that
    Regards pete

Quote Originally Posted by howy308 View Post