Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: gritting grouse

gritting grouse

is there a best time to do this,theres a good few grouse ( never shot any over the years on this patch ) over about a 1000 acre that i look after, iv got a couple of bags of grit given to me from a mate and thought it be advantageus to get it out soon as poss .... its for use on trichostrongylus tenuis a bit of a moothfae i know if you'll pardon the pun..any help greatfully recived

we used to put piles of grit out all year round, around the edges of the beats usually on the hill roads , so i dont see no reason for you not to do it now should'nt be affected by snow cover from now on

I'm not an expert but as far as I am aware you can use medicated grit all year round EXCEPT one month before the shooting season and throughout the grouse shooting season. Most moors use a box with a flip over lid to expose/withdraw the medicated grit from the birds.
    Last edited by Willie; 12-04-2014 at 15:05.

thanx very much tulloch and willie, i had herd if you were laying it on the ground it had to be buried or removed before the end of june

Quote Originally Posted by skywull View Post
    thanx very much tulloch and willie, i had herd if you were laying it on the ground it had to be buried or removed before the end of june
    yer sorry I meant to say keep it covered just before shooting , however I do know shoots that have a lot of ground and they really don't bother covering it up at all

Yea - lets just give away prescription drugs. Lets contaminate birds going into the food chain with drugs.

Marvellous idea

Section 161 of the Highways Act 1980 (England & Wales) makes it an offence to discharge a firearm within 50 ft of the centre of a highway with vehicular rights without lawful authority or excuse, if as a result a user of the highway is injured, interrupted or endangered.