Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rem260

Rem260

Hi all I need sum info
    is the Remington 260 a suitable caliber for all uk deer
    species.

I would say so , a very capable round.

Im sure anything from .240 upwards is suitable for all uk deer species

Clearly I've been doing something wrong since 1999 as I've just got my fourth rifle/fifth barrel in 260 Rem. I like it a lot. There are many other options out there that will perform equally well or better, but the 260 Rem is the one that I'm trying to get the hang of.

Best regards

JCS

Aye, it's certainly legal and capable. Its another of the current new batch of calibre that have filtered through the target shooting community and gained the attention of stalkers like the 280, grendal, 6.5x47, 6XC etc. If lucky it'll stick but I fear it'll fade out when the supposed journalist experts move onto the next fad calibre.

I've already seen second hand 260s sold for ridiculously low prices.

Quote Originally Posted by scotsgun View Post
    Aye, it's certainly legal and capable. Its another of the current new batch of calibre that have filtered through the target shooting community and gained the attention of stalkers like the 280, grendal, 6.5x47, 6XC etc. If lucky it'll stick but I fear it'll fade out when the supposed journalist experts move onto the next fad calibre.

I've already seen second hand 260s sold for ridiculously low prices.
    I bought my first 260 Rem to go stalking with in 1999 and that's still it's main job. It's only recently that I've started to read about it being used for target shooting.

Regards

JCS

I can't honestly say it's perfect for UK as I've never set foot in the country . I can however say that I've killed a large amount of whitetails and a couple Sika with the little Remington Model 7 in 260 REM I bought when the cartridge first hit the shops here in the USA .