Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: dsc1+2 - are they necessary?

dsc1+2 - are they necessary?

Hello,

I am relatively new to hunting in the UK and would like to really get into the stalking of deer. I have FAC with deer legal calibres, but wondered what steps are needed to get out there. Is it necessary to complete the dsc qualifications to be allowed on land to stalk?

Thanks

Expect many different replies on thier merits but the simple answer is no not at all
    There are no perfect men in this world ..... Only perfect intentions

The dsc qualification is not compulsary, but you would be advised to get it, i do a lot of stalking with a friend and dont have my dsc but intend on getting it soon, in the meantime you can find plenty of stalking with various estates just by paying for it
    good luck
    Ray

iam on the fence but doing mine ,

Quote Originally Posted by paul o' View Post
    iam on the fence but doing mine ,
    +1 but looking at doing it in the future.

Certainly a "deja vu Rodney" topic

Quote Originally Posted by s8mdevo View Post
    Hello,

I am relatively new to hunting in the UK and would like to really get into the stalking of deer. I have FAC with deer legal calibres, but wondered what steps are needed to get out there. Is it necessary to complete the dsc qualifications to be allowed on land to stalk?

Thanks
    Do you have rifles conditioned for deer or AOLQ?

Depends what you want out of the whole deer 'thing' really. As said you could just pay for stalking and learn the basics as you go.

The good thing about DSC1 is it puts much of the theoretical and factual knowledge of deer stalking, from all angles into a structured framework for you to learn. Even if you had several good mentors it would take you a very long time to learn everything the DSC1 covers.