Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ammunition... Do you crimp?

Ammunition... Do you crimp?

Hi guys,

Having reloaded thousands of rounds of pistol calibre ammunition in the past (The good old days!) and also for my 44 mag lever action rifle, I have always applied a crimp after seating the bullet heads. I am new to reloading rifle ammunition and wondered what the general consensus is on applying a crimp, I know some people don't but thought I would seek a little advice. I will be loading for .243 and .270 calibre.

For those that recommend applying a crimp, I use the lee factory crimp die ( LFC die) for pistol ammunition, is the appropriate LFC die for rifle ammunition recommended or are there better alternatives?

Many thanks.
    Last edited by paultap; 08-05-2014 at 20:03.

theres a few threads on the subject if you search
    "Politicians must be allowed to panic. They need activity. It is their substitute for achievement"
    "'The matter is under consideration' means we have lost the file. 'The matter is under active consideration' means we are trying to find the file."

Hi,
    I was like yourself when i first started with CF Rifles, My mate sometimes crimped and sometimes not as on speaking to loads of shooters some did and others did not, well i was starting out and before i got all my reloading gear, i went out with my mate and several bullet heads fell out of his magazine and i could do nothing but laugh, well year n half later i crimp all of my loads and i have being doing not too bad, trial and error, if first you dont succeed try try again, the bit i found hardest was judging the pressure to put on the crimp

Always crimp here.
    I started doing it on the 22 Hornet, as it improved accuracy (tightened groups) I found it also gave more velocity.
    I am now been crimping .223, .243 and 7.62x39, all are better with the crimp.

Neil.