Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Stalking scope choice

Stalking scope choice

While i'm waiting for my FAC to come through, i try to do my homework and put down on the list all the stuff i need... I know what rifle i'm gonna get but with the scopes i'm stuck between Zeiss Conquest DL 3-12x50 and Swarovski Z3 4-12x50 , both of them fit in the budget...
    Any opinions please?
    Also is it the BRX reticle any good? For me looks a bit busy...

Thanks!

Just for stalking at normal ranges, IMHO and from experience, you won't do better than a good 8 x 56 with 30mm tube?

Nothing to fiddle with and get confused over when concentrating on the shot?

For longer range shooting could be a different story but have no experience there, sorry.

In your case I would recommend the "k.I.s.s" quote. 6x42 or 8x56 just concentrate on the shot.
    Tusker

I've been where you are and started with a 6x40, then moved to a 10x42 as I started shooting more foxes and wanted the extra mag for longer shots and now I'm in the market for a Zeiss 3-12x56 with ASV as I want to practice more on targets at distance along with shooting deer and Fox.

The above advice is good but nothing to stop you going down the variable route and leaving it on 8x for deer stalking as at least you have the options for when your shooting develops and don't have to buy a new scope?

Quote Originally Posted by nun_hunter View Post
    I've been where you are and started with a 6x40, then moved to a 10x42 as I started shooting more foxes and wanted the extra mag for longer shots and now I'm in the market for a Zeiss 3-12x56 with ASV as I want to practice more on targets at distance along with shooting deer and Fox.

The above advice is good but nothing to stop you going down the variable route and leaving it on 8x for deer stalking as at least you have the options for when your shooting develops and don't have to buy a new scope?