Thread: More than one .308

More than one .308

Morning all some advice please ! . I am a professional stalker for an estate and have an estate rifle in .308 .i also have a 308 which is my own personal weapon . What I want to do is receive another .308 from my old stalking mentor who has recently been diagnosed with terminal cancer so he wants to sort his affairs out etc ,this rifle has sentimental reasons to me as I shot my first deer with it over 25 years ago ,it is also a very lightweight rifle which would be good for stalking on the hill in Scotland so it is different from my personal weapon at the moment .i have spoken to my firearms department and they have said normally it would be a no but they would look into it and put my application In writing , so can anybody give me better reasons or advice in this please ? Many thanks Tom

I'd probably stress the fact that you have a need for a hill stalking light rifle as well as your lowland stalking heavier rifle! (Although it's not really need but 'good reason' that you have to prove).

Your good reason could be 1 for lightweight long range hill stalking 1 for close up woodland stalking.I have 2 x 243s and 3.22s and I have had 2 x 308s at the same time in the past

Your work rifle is your work rifle so although it is on your certificate you can challenge any comment about you having two calibers already. Work is work. For your own recreational use you only have one that you use? Sentimental reasons are not good enough for the justification you need and I wouldn't even bother making mention of it as it won't get you anywhere. The weight and handling difference are more than enough combined with how this benefits you and the fact you now need this rifle in the cabinet for those reasons. Be polite but firm. I wouldn't try thinking up any additional reasons. You might need them for a 3rd .308 !!!

PM me if you want. I've dealt with a number of different forces having moved around so I know the system fairly well.