Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 30.06 or 308?

30.06 or 308?

Hi all,
    I have to make a decision on a new rifle calibre.
    It will be a double rifle for use predominantly for wild boar.
    The rifle I'm looking at is chambered for both 30.06 and .308, I have no great knowledge of either, so any feedback would be welcome.
    Buckup.

SD Regular
    Go for 308 as in theory you could if the rifle were so set up use 307 Winchester in it and if the rifle were to have the chamber and extractor modified for 307 Winchester would be much better.

And also legal FWIW in France in theory although the law there actually bans any arm "capable of firing" military ammunition. But usually even though a 307 will the French are happy to allow such chambered arms.

Quote Originally Posted by enfieldspares
    Go for 308 as in theory you could if the rifle were so set up use 307 Winchester in it and if the rifle were to have the chamber and extractor modified for 307 Winchester would be much better.

And also legal FWIW in France in theory although the law there actually bans any arm "capable of firing" military ammunition. But usually even though a 307 will the French are happy to allow such chambered arms.
    Sorry Enfield,
    not interested in messing about with it, just want shoot it. What I need is a rough guide or comparison of the two quoted calibers to help me choose one over the other.
    Thanks for your reply non the less.
    Buckup.

Hmmm that'd a difficult one

Not sure what rifle your looking at but a few come to mind however one that would avoid any such hassles would be a good idea. I gather that the rifle your looking at is only offered in those chamberings?

I ask because I was browsing a while ago and the subject of doublke rifles came up and they showed me a new Italian O/U in it's own padded carry case with Apel mounts I seem to recall in 8x57JRS. The shop was:-

F. A. Anderson of East Grinstead Sussex 01342 325604