Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: salmon fly fishing complete set up

salmon fly fishing complete set up

Im after the above as i have been offered a short salmon fishing break in the north of scotland in october
    Im a novice in fly fishing and only ever fly fished for rainbows in stocked lakes.
    So i will need everything from the correct flies, rod, reel and line etc
    Thanks
    Last edited by Devil_Bri; 25-06-2014 at 18:47.

What river are you fihing in the North of Scotland? Many salmon rivers further north are small and will be fished with ease by using a single handed rod rated for a 7 or 8 line. However, given the time of year your going it may need something that will handle intermediate lines and slightly bigger and heavier flies.

Ive a Guideline AWM 14' 9/10, Guideline haze 8/10 reel. Speyline (airflo) to suit. Flys, tubes and boxes. 300 plus post.

Nutty

The rod has a couple of tape marks on, the reel has a wee scrape on the bottom. I can email photos if you wish. The cost to buy the flys and tubes would set someone back about 200. Some Ive tied and some tied ny a pro in Thurso.

Nutty

John Norris often has complete outfits available in last years colours. Often none the worse for that.

David.

Quote Originally Posted by jamross65 View Post
    What river are you fihing in the North of Scotland? Many salmon rivers further north are small and will be fished with ease by using a single handed rod rated for a 7 or 8 line. However, given the time of year your going it may need something that will handle intermediate lines and slightly bigger and heavier flies.
    Kinloch

Quote Originally Posted by Devil_Bri View Post
    Im after the above as i have been offered a short salmon fishing break in the north of scotland in october
    Im a novice in fly fishing and only ever fly fished for rainbows in stocked lakes.
    So i will need everything from the correct flies, rod, reel and line etc
    Thanks