Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Muntjac Fawns

Muntjac Fawns

I have been stalking muntjac regular for last eight years and I shoot probably between 10/20 muntjac a year my question is during the winter months I have never seen a young fawn. Is it me or can anyone say they have seen fawns regular trough the winter months Please it's an honest question looking for honest replies sorry if this has been covered before ? Cheers TM 270

My experience in my wood is that I see fawns in the summer months when there is plenty of cover, but very few in the winter when they are obviously easier to spot from the air. I am convinced that the Buzzard's and Red Kites we have, take them through the winter months.Wf1

I found several fawns during the winter all were dead and in the worse of the winter weather I believe many perish in the worse winters .
    N

Very interesting question.

Is it possible that after over 100 generations in the wild in England, that Muntjac's breeding season could be starting to adapt to the climate / seasons in the UK?
    Brian.

Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they aren't out to get you......

I was talking to Jason from Muntjacstalking back in march and he has an abundance of them everywhere and he is convinced that they are starting to develope a breeding season with far more young being seen late spring/early summer. Its natures way I suppose.
    Paul

Thanks for replies guys I was sat in high seat the other night (great place to think) pondering over this if muntjac are going towards a recognised season ? Should we afford them a closed season I know this is hard one but they are hardy little buggers and I must say I have a great deal of respect for them just my thoughts and YES TIN HAT IS ON chin strap secured.

so are people saying the muntjac is choosing not to get pregnant shortly after birth then? because that would be difficult to regulate with a 7 month gestation cycle I would have thought.

Dave