Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rifle Zeroing

Rifle Zeroing

Hi I'm a relative newby both on this site and to stalking, although I have now got my rifle and scope and due to Morton refusing all but fmj ammo I now have no accessible area to zero my setup, one good friend of mine is also in the same predicament, I had a work colleague who offered to allow me on to his patch for the zeroing only but this has sadly fallen through, is anyone in Scotland or the north of England able to offer the two of us a little time on a patch so that we can zero our rifles, by the way we don't as yet have moderators, so it may be rather noisy I have a .308 and my buddy has a .270, we live in the bathgate area of Scotland but can and will travel as we did intend to travel to stalk anyway, I can add that we are experienced shooters both shotguns and rifles so aren't total novices in anyway, so you can be assured we are not numpties with big guns.

Seems rather unusual Eeyan that they should not allow you expanding ammunition if your rifle is conditioned for stalking or sporting use over ground. Are you sure that you are not limited to range use only?

What do the actual conditions on your certificate say?
    It's the calibre of the shooter that counts not the calibre of the rifle.

my thoughts too 8x57. If theres no allowance for expanding ammo then they cant be used for shooting anything living..? And if thats the case, what were they passed for? IE what did your land use form say you wanted to use it for? The way i understand it is that you can get any rifle you want for target shooting as long as you belong to the correct rifle club that will allow you to shoot it? If you dont have deer/vermin and your not a member of a range, what basis did they give you the rifle?

Sounds like a cluster with conditions?

I think he means that the Morton rifle ranges only allows FMJ to be used so you cant zero with expanding ammo.

MW3

Quote Originally Posted by MW3 View Post