Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bolt sticking on un-fired chambered round

Bolt sticking on un-fired chambered round

Hi Chaps,

Firstly, i am not an expert in gun smithing or reloading so any answers/suggestions need to be easy for this numpty to understand!

I reload my own ammo using the basic lee classic (the one that uses the hammer) and have never had any problem with consistency or accuracy, i trim the case after use.
    But, my 30-06 it causing me a problem, i chamber a round, when i come to unload the bolt sticks and i can't get the round out, i have had to be really forceful on the bolt, or in the case of today i had to fire the round to extract it!
    This couldn't have come at a worst time as i am off to Montana in 3 weeks!

Thanks in advance

Cheers

Richard

Hi Richard,

How does it feel when chambering empty but fired brass?

Have you managed to extract a full round that seemed jammed? We're there any marks on the case or head?

Does the round chamber ok when closing the bolt? Any resistance at all?

I assume that the bolt operates ok without a round in the chamber.

Mac

Quote Originally Posted by Mac View Post
    Hi Richard,

How does it feel when chambering empty but fired brass?

Have you managed to extract a full round that seemed jammed? We're there any marks on the case or head?

Does the round chamber ok when closing the bolt? Any resistance at all?

I assume that the bolt operates ok without a round in the chamber.

Mac
    Hi Mac,
    I haven't tried chambering an empty case.
    I have extracted a round, a few scuff marks near the base of the cartridge but only faint.
    There is a little resistance for sure.
    Bolt works fine without a round in the chamber.
    Cheers
    Richard

I'm no expert but I've had similar issues.

if you are trimming cases then overall case length shouldn't be an issue. If it was too long up to the shoulder, then you would see some marks on the extracted case.