Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working up a load, where to start?

Working up a load, where to start?

Hi there after a little help?

im new to reloading but am confident of the steps needed to safely load rounds. What I'm a bit unsure of is how to work up a load......

do I start at minimum book load and work up to max book load with groups of 5 (unless I get pressure signs before max)? Or do I start a bit closer to book maximum?

thanks for any advice,
    mike

Start at the bottom Mike and work your way up gradually. Personally I only load 3 of each rather than 5 until I get to a point of interest.
    It's the calibre of the shooter that counts not the calibre of the rifle.

I've always found optimal charge weight an exellent way to find a safe reliable load with minimum use of components

OCW Overview - Dan Newberry's OCW Load Development System

8x57 is right. Start at the bottom. If you aren't under constraints of distance and time, I would start with 10 at minimum and then ten at the next level listed in the book. I've been shooting since I was 2 years old and the first few are always wasted sorting out the hold on new rifle. Because of this, and because I can shoot about any time I want, I tend to load 20 or 30 at each load point, beginning with minimum and working up the line. This gives me a good feel for the rifle and load and prevents me from disregarding an otherwise good load that unfamiliarity with the rifle (or too much coffee that morning) causes me to screw up on paper with. If you can't do that many rounds, do ten each.

I mean, what's your hurry?~Muir.

PS: If you're asking where you should start your load data then you aren't as ready to make safe loads as you think. ALL published data says to start at the minimum and work up.
    Last edited by Muir; 27-09-2014 at 23:52.

Look at the consensus loads which work.
    Look at the match loads which work. Usually none of these are near max.