Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: medal boar ?

medal boar ?

what do you boys think of this boy making a medal if it gets measured, was shot in gloucester last weekend by a lad thats never seen a boar before and on his first outing..?

It's quite easy to get a rough score:

Measure both lower tucks along the long side, add the two and then average = points
    Measure the width of both lower tusks across the base, add the two and average, then multiply by 3 = points
    Measure the circumference of the upper left tusk at the base = points
    Measure the circumference of the upper right tusk at the base = points

Add the four numbers together and if the total is 105 or more it may well be a medal, above 115 and it's potentially a gold when the beauty points are added.

There are up to another 5 points available for beauty and I am no expert but these tusks seem to have some attributes that might get beauty points. There are also up to 10 points that can be deducted for inequality between the two sets but these and the beauty points are largely subjective so you'd need an expert to have a look.

Bronze medals start at 110 and 120 gets gold.

The current UK gold medal boar all had lower tusks of around 21 - 24cms and 20cms should get a silver assuming the other measurements are OK.
    Last edited by paul k; 17-10-2014 at 14:25.

Quote Originally Posted by paul k View Post
    It's quite easy to get a rough score:

Measure both lower tucks along the long side, add the two and then average = points
    Measure the width of both lower tusks across the base, add the two and average, then multiply by 3 = points
    Measure the circumference of the upper left tusk = points
    Measure the circumference of the upper right tusk = points

Add the four numbers together and if the total is 105 or more it may well be a medal, above 115 and it's potentially a gold when the beauty points are added.