Leupold vx -3L 4.5 -14x50 some stupid questions please help!!!!

Bladerunner

Hi guys

Some stupid questions regarding these scopes, firstly I'm new to stalking and have yet to purchase my first rifle. I'm looking at a tikka T3 6.5x55 and I'm really keen on this style of scope as all of the estate rifles I've borrow I've found that I'm stretching to look down the scope in everything but prone. So I'm keen to know

Do you special rings and bases for these scopes?? Optilock will the low set be to low?

Will having a really low scope make prone shots difficult?

If I have a large (wide) Mod will I end up blocking some of the picture??

Would love to here from any that has a vx -3L on a tikka, to see how they got on with it??

Thanks in advance, I always get a lot of help on here, I think its easier to ask these questions in a forum I always feel a bit silly in the gun rooms.

I don't quite understand why you think this particular scope will assist in your stretching - the estate rifle will have been set up for the person who uses them most - your personal rifle will be set up such that the eye relief is specific to you - so no more stretching forward to get a good picture. In terms of cheek weld, (the vertical stretch) this can be managed with smaller objectives and appropriate mounts and a cheekpiece to make you feel comfortable getting the correct sight picture easily.

As to your questions:

Rings tend to be specific to the rifle, not the scope. Optilock lows would I am sure be fine, but it does depend on the exact T3 model - and your eye relief requirements.

Height of scope should not have any impact on the style of shot - see previous comments on cheek weld. Height of bipod has a far bigger impact here.

On mod - maybe - particularly on low mag - but it should not affect you to the extent of being unworkable.

The key is in setting the rifle up for you - plenty on here I am sure who would be able to help with the physical aspect of this.

Hope this helps