Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: General beginner's advice

General beginner's advice

Hi folks,

So, as per my introductions post, a bit of background;

I'm a woodland officer, and a lot of my job involves meeting with landowners and encouraging them to engage in positive management of their woodlands, including deer management.
    I am not yet a stalker myself, so I figured as I was advising people (or at the very least referring them to The Deer Initiative), it was about time to start.

My interest is primarily in population management and filling my own freezer. I'm not remotely interested in trophy hunting, so any stalking I do will be on land with solely those objectives in mind.

So I have a few questions I could do with some advice on;

1. I thought a .308 would be a practical, all-round rifle to start with, as there are reds in my area and I may have access to land on which to shoot them. That said, and not at this time knowing what I will be able to get with a small budget, I was curious to know if I should also include on the FAC application other calibers. Will it go against me on the application if I apply for, say, a .308, a .270 , a .243 and a .22 (the latter of course just being for small game)?

2. As it will be my first FAC application, I assume a mentor will be a requirement of the FAC. Is this correct? I have a number of people in mind, but am curious to know what is required of a mentor (in terms of qualifications etc) and how it works. (i.e. is the mentor someone chosen by the firearms officer or can I just choose someone myself).

That's enough for now.

Thanks in advance.

Q1 .308 sounds ideal for you, the others you could probably quite easily justify as well (although not sure if they would be happy about granting .270 & .308 as they may think them too similar, but ask anyway as if you don't ask.....)