Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: dehumidifier thoughts

dehumidifier thoughts

Hi all. Just after some advice on dehumifiers please. In recent weeks the windows upstairs have started condensating a lot. Our girls rooms is worst and not good for their health. We only have a two bed semi and if we have the radiators on upstairs the rooms get really hot.
    What would you suggest the best way is to get the moisture levels down a bit please.

Regards Pete

Are they asthmatic...?? Are the windows single glaze.... Open the window that has the condensation slightly this will keep the condensation down and create the air to circulate.

Im asthmatic, damp conditions outside im fine with. Inside effects me terribly. My cottage is single payne glass so I leave a couple windows only slightly a jar allowing for the air to circulate.

When I was in the building trade I could never enter a house that was freshly plastered.
    Last edited by weeman; 24-11-2014 at 00:22.

Im a joiner by trade, not any more, the chances are the double glazing unit has blown - by that I mean the resin they use to make it a sealed unit will have comes away therefore letting the air get inside, providing they are double glazed units. The only way to stop this is to A, have them replaced, B, make sure they are fitted correctly by a reputable installer or a good joiner.

It sounds like mate the condensation is out side the units running down the glass (inside the property)
    To require a dehumidifier must be considerably bad. If the Windows are double glazed I can't see the cause of this being the units blown as when a unit normally blows the unit mist, fogs and has condensation inside the unit between the pains of glass.