Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Guess my weight...Wye Valley Boar

Guess my weight...Wye Valley Boar

I recently posted in the General section about a bit of ground that I have been asked to assess for deer in the south of the Wye Valley as the land owner is about to start some forestry work and Natural England wanted him to have plan in place. Needless to say I found little deer activity on the site but quite a lot of what looked like Boar trade.

So I set the trailcam up and this is one of the animals it caught. I am new to Boar, are they normally this big and what would a beast like that weigh in the larder? I put the pic of me and my pal in to give a sense of scale, particularly when you look at the vid you can see the Boars back is above our waste height and neither of us are small so it must be a really big boy, it makes the Fallow look small in comparison!
    I have set things up to hopefully shoot one next visit, though I am a bit worried as to whether I could handle a beast of this size!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0008.jpg 
Views:	144 
Size:	222.0 KB 
ID:	50025Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0013.jpg 
Views:	127 
Size:	207.2 KB 
ID:	50026Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0014.jpg 
Views:	133 
Size:	206.5 KB 
ID:	50027Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0028.jpg 
Views:	130 
Size:	212.1 KB 
ID:	50028

ATB George

It looks like a avrage size male to me maybe 100-125kg its hard to judge size from a trail cam not knowing the area good luck on your long cold nights up a high seat waiting for those tasty beasts nothing better the home made boar burgers

Thanks B & D, I can't wait to bag one, they do look tasty! Think I may need to get another freezer.

Can anyone give me some tips on sitting up. There is a spot I can sit up 90yds from an open area adjacent to the bait station I have now set up , they have to cross this open ground and ride, I can bait this area before sitting up.