Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reloading .223 Rem & 6.5 x 55 Swede with H4895 or another shared powder

Reloading .223 Rem & 6.5 x 55 Swede with H4895 or another shared powder

I am just getting started in reloading and so far have only loaded the .22 hornet with the load data that came with the rifle with good results.

I have now got the kit together to load my .223 Rem and 6.5 x 55 swede, the .223 will primarily be for target work with 52 gr SMKs / A-max with the odd fox / long range rabbit. I would like to develop 2 loads for the 6.5, a 140 grain SP for deer and 142gr HPBT for target work.

I realise they are very different cartridges and therefore ideally require different powder burn rates but if I can use one powder for both I can get loading the 6.5 quicker and from a safety point of view there is no chance of mixing powders when loading, plus there is a good supply locally.

I was initially looking at H335 for the .223 but looking at the data on the Hodgdon site H4895 will give similar velocities for the .223.

If anyone has experience with similar loads or load both these calibres with the same powder I'd be interested in hearing your experiences.

Thanks

Interesting problem - I am looking at .308 and 6.5 x 55 myself.
    I would have thought 6.5 and .223 would be beyond the ability of a single powder - but see below.
    I'm looking at Vihtavuori N150 driving 140grn in the swede and 168grn in the .308, but N150 does not show in .223 until you are using a 90grn head.
    N140 and N135 overlap the 6.5 swede and .223 according to the Vihtavuori load tables.
    Also remember, just because a load is shown in the load tables as safe, it may not be accurate in your gun.
    Should be interesting to see where you end up.
    Last edited by dexter_morgan; 18-12-2014 at 17:28.

Quote Originally Posted by dexter_morgan View Post
    Interesting problem - I am looking at .308 and 6.5 x 55 myself.