Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is there something wrong with these reloads?

Is there something wrong with these reloads?

I've been reloading pistol calibre for the last 18 months and did my first rifle loads last week and fired some off on Saturday but think there could be a problem looking at all the gas fouling on the cases, i'm guessing the case neck/cartridge is not sealing in the chamber on firing and allowing hot gas to flow back over the cartridge to the bolt head, is this normal in a rifle?, any advice appreciated

The cases were once fired Norma in 6.5x55 and I did a full length resize using Lee dies and I also used the Lee factory crimp die, I did 6 lots of 6 rounds with 3 lots using Lapua 139gn hpbt with N160 powder using 44/44.5/45gn loads and 3 lots using Sierra 140gn hpbt with N160 powder using 45/45.5/46gn loads, all off them had the same fouling all the way to the ejector ring.
    I fired some Privi 139gn rn beforehand and no fouling evident on those cases, can it just be that the N160 is a dirty powder?

The Privi didn't perform very well in my Browning A bolt at all the grouping was all over the place, all 6 of my trial loads grouped very well with not much difference in them over 100m, I didn't have use of a chrono at the place I was at so I don't know what fps I was getting but there was a noticeable louder report from the reloads, more noticeable recoil and I could hear the thwack of the bullet hitting the backstop compared to the Privi's.

I also got the micrometer out with the following results with random checks from each of my loads:

Make Type Neck Shoulder Case
    Length
    Privi New 7.4mm 11.09mm 54.74mm
    Privi Fired 7.59mm 11.16mm 54.77mm
    Privi Fired Reload 7.4mm 11.13mm 54.7mm
    Norma Resized Reload 7.4mm 11.09mm 54.71mm
    Norma Fired Reload 7.4mm 11.13mm 54.71mm

Step on the throttle a bit. Your pressures are too low. You're sure your scale is good?? ~ Muir

Quote Originally Posted by Muir View Post