Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: reloading a 6.5 swede, advice welcome !

reloading a 6.5 swede, advice welcome !

Hi all, after the realisation that my 6.5 steyr with a 20" barrel will be sending rounds out at considerably less than factory velocity figures I am wondering whether to start loading myself. Shooting 140 gn Federal powershok quoted at 2600 fps the general concensus seems to be that with my barrel that may be reduced to 2400-2500 fps, I wonder if this contributes to limited bullet expansion on chest shot animals ?
    My thought is whether I can improve on factory ammo to give me a bit more velocity, one point is that I can load a 120 gn which does not seem readily available in factory rounds. I am new to loading and dont have a big budget ( Lee loader ) so will not be able to try loads of different powders etc and without a chrono how will I know anyway ? Basicly can I find a formula with maybe a fast burning powder to off set the short barrel and achive higher mv`s without masses of experimentation as I dont have the time or budget.
    Happy to be labelled as naive and maybe should just pay 56 a box for Norma 140 gn quoted at 2690 fps ???

Hi polly, I'd say with a 20 Inch barrel and 120 grain heads I'd say N160 would be a good choice of powder the figures on the factory ammo boxes I'd say you will struggle to get with a short barrel in 6.5 I shoot 120 noslers with n160 @2900 fps but iv got 23 1/2 inch barrel

I have a standard length barrel R8 that's pushing 140 grain SST along at 2730fps with 47.3 grains of n160 in a Lapua case with a CCI BR primer. Plenty of case space left too so might see what it's truly capable of one day. I tried 123 grain amax with n160 and it was an experiment in getting sooty cases so maybe something like n150 or n550 might be a better option?

If you homeload you will get much better velocity.
    I shot with a BSA CF2 with a 20 inch barrel and 120 game kings in front of Ramshot Magnum for a long long time.