Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shotgun Cartridges, Colour Coding

Shotgun Cartridges, Colour Coding

My name is Tiffany Lees and I am a student studying BA (Hons) Business Management.

As part of my final year dissertation project, I am investigating whether the procedure of colour coding shotgun cartridge cases, should be reintroduced as standard industry practice to promote user safety, or whether it's not necessary.

Shooting is a passion on mine, and I wanted to include it within my dissertation topic. I am therefore asking if you would agree to participate in my research by answering a very short questionnaire. I would be very grateful to hear your thoughts on this matter.

Just click the link: http://goo.gl/forms/TplbvxFJk2

Thank you.

SD Regular
    I think that if ALL 12 Bore shot guns were the same colour, say red, then more likely to arise would be issues of 70mm cartridges being inadvertently chambered in 65mm guns. As being plastic the lettering on the outside soon wears off under handling. Thus for me I know that any black colour 12 bore cartridges I have are 65mm and any red colour 12 bore cartridges I have are 70mm.

I am just three years short of being sixty years old. So I can remember when paper cased cartridges were the usual "fodder" and plastic was only just coming in. 20 Bore were BUFF in paper if Eley-Kynoch. 65mm (although we knew them then as 2 1/2") Eley-Kynock were orange. Think Impax, Grand Prix and Special Trap etc, etc. Whereas long 70mm 12 Bore such as Alpahamx were red.

Unless my memory fails!

The other, little known, issue is that 16 Bore cartridges can be inadvertently loaded into a 10 Bore. Or 28 Bore into a 16 Bore. I can't recall which one it is.

But what I can say with certainty is that many people would never tolerate a 20 Bore and a 12 Bore in the same household. Ours did but we never had the problem of loading a 20 into a 12. YOU JUST MADE SURE YOU CHECKED YOUR POCKETS!!