Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: As we get older

As we get older

I have been reading Peter Scott's book "The eye of the storm" . In the book he quotes

"But there comes a time for some men when there 1st reaction ,
    Even to a traditional quarry is to no longer kill. They reach a certain
    Stage or age ,some sooner ,some later "

I have been hunting personally for the last 35 years , I still get excited before a weekend away stalking ( packing my bags 3 days before departure) . I now enjoy the quality of the stalk rather than just getting a deer on the ground . I also enjoy putting guests in the best places , and sharing in there success when it goes right . How as age affected you ?

I'll be 50 this year, and only discovered hunting in the past 12 months. It's reintroduced me to time spent outdoors, the joy of learning new things and of spending time in 'nature'. This morning I was accompanying a very kind SD member who's invited me along on a few stalks near exmoor, a beautiful cold, clear, frosty morning, a walk and gentle conversation on stalking skills and, just as we were walking back to the car after an 'unsuccesful' but very enjoyable morning, there was a surprise deer taken.

I can safely say that I'm hooked on hunting (almost ironic as I was vegetarian for 25 years) and it's helped put me back on the hill, rediscovering the glory of the outdoors and learning a completely new set of skills. I perhaps don't have the lust for the hunt I might have had if I were 30 years younger, it's more about the place, the stalk and the environment. It's almost as though the chance to take a beast is secondary to everything else.

Maybe I'm just getting old

I look forward to the roe buck season every year and when it arrives I'm not all that bothered. Fallow deer, not bothered if i never shoot one as long as i live. I hunt moose a couple of times a year and its not my favorite thing to do.