Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Staffs/Shrops/North Wales Stalking

Staffs/Shrops/North Wales Stalking

Just wondering if anyone can share any knowledge of stalking opportunities in these areas? I have limited stalking experience, fully insured, my own rifles (223 & 308) for deer, pest & target purposes. I have been shooting (target & pest) for nearly 20 years.

Thanks in advance,
    Oly
    Last edited by Oly; 23-03-2010 at 18:10.

Oly,

Kinmel Estates offer accompanied Fallow stalking. I havenít been tried them out, so cant comment but there seems to be plenty of Fallow about the area.

http://www.kinmel-estate.co.uk/html/stalking.html

Mac

Oly, as to Kinmel etates, I can vouch for this setup, one of my friends "Potman" on here, has stalked some of this estate, with deer taken on the last two visits.
    (The Unspeakable In Pursuit Of The Uneatable.) " If I can help, I will help!." Former S.A.C.S. member!

I live just a copule of miles from Kinmel and the only comment that I can offer on it is that there are indeed good numbers of deer here but the estate (and poachers) have been hitting them pretty hard this winter and they're not as easy to come across as they might have been 12 months ago. The deer manager there is (or certainly was) John Price who seems to know what he is doing. It's not cheap but there is a good chance of seeing something and there is the odd very big buck around, I saw one just off the Kinmel Estate last September that had possibly had the largest head that I've seen on a wild fallow anywhere in the UK.

For a few years in the early 2000s the big Danish agency Diana offered the estate in their catalogue and again the estate was hit pretty hard with the herd down to maybe 200 - 300 and they have been built back up to between 900 - 1000 under John's management.