.223 Hornady Brass - No Expansion!!

evetseel

Hi all, im new to reloading. I have only been involved for circa 2 months. albeit a bumpy start, ive managed to develop a load that works relatively well for me in my Remington 700 1:12 . I do most of my development at 200yds and i'm getting sub moa results. So one could say, happy days leave it at that! whereas that is the most logical approach, i enjoy the science behind reloading and tweaking the specs to see how it manifests on paper, its in part why i reload.

Now in terms of specification, i am shooting Hornady brass, CCI primers, alliant RLX10 powder with hornady 55Gr SST BT bullets. Im loading a 22.4gr charge (.1 gr over the max load data) and im getting an average 3050 FPS. My brass is not expanding and I've shot the x30 casings i am using, around x3 times. The sooting around the neck is not as preventable as it was from the factory ammunition, with the 1st and 2nd uses, but none the less, i am not yet needing to re trim the casings. This grinds my gears slightly and my OCD, as in terms of bullet seating and ultimately case pressure, there is a theoretical deviation due to the un-expanded non trimmed cases. My average is 3050fps but the average deviation is around 75 fps.OK, its minimal, but none the less its there. There is literally no expansion going on bar possibly around 10 thou on one or two of the cases. they are all staying below the SAMI tolerance for case trim length.

You could probably argue, that if case expansion is not occurring at all, then case pressures should in turn stay relatively uniform. why not just continue to run as i am. Well, as i mentioned previously, i like to tinker and i would like to begin moving the bullet seating closer to the lands to understand how this effects the groupings. i measured up last night, and according to my findings, there is 300 thou of head space available when comparing to a COAL of 2.250.