25-06 calibre

Brough

After all I am a novice and at the moment spending a lot of time researching as much info as I can .I have been hearing alot about .243
.270 .308 and 30-06 but not a great deal about 25-06 why is this ,is it not a popular deer round if not why and can anyone tell me a little about it .
thanks Brough

Heym SR20

25-06 a very nice flat shooting calibre developed in the US for shooting across large distances at smallish game such as Pronghorm etc. My first deer were taken with a Sako TRGs in 25-06.

25-06 will do everything the 243 will do, but does have a bit more recoil, muzzle blast etc - not that the recoil is an issue.

270 - will shoot a bigger bullet - 25-06 standard is 120 grain, 270 will go up to 130 or 150 grain and is also flat shooting but a bit more versitile if wanting to shoot bigger stuff.

30-06 / 308 - bigger bullets, slightly less flat shooting.

25-06 is not as popular as the 243 / 270 / 308 so ammo will be a bit harder to find.

But to be honest if you put identical rifles together that are of a reasonable weight (say 8 1/2 lbs ll up) and just of different calibre I think most of us would struggle to tell to the difference from behind the rifle and nor would the beast at the recieving end.

But I would add if you ever are thinking of taking the rifle overseas I would ere towards the slightly larger calibre,

But then for a novice the 243 is lovely and mild and easy to shoot and learn on.

Key is to have a rifel that fits and you know you can hit what you aim at - confidence is everything.

Brough

Thanks for your time guys ,very interesting,I,m no where near yet to purchasing a rifle but I want to find out what you guys use ,So it looks like the .243 is a fairly common round does what it says on the tin and a good choice of ammo. The deer down this way are mainly roe and muntjac unless you get onto one of the parks and then fallow etc. Thanks Brough.

jingzy