Are you thinking of hunting in the US?

devon deer stalker

Hi All,

I am heading back over to Montana again this year hunting Elk/Deer
I am contacted on a regular basis for advice on how I do it without using an expensive outfitter.

Whilst I am no expert I have had success, getting a bull elk and several deer, all on publicly accessible land.

So what is the best advice I can give, get a good GPS (or smartphone) and access this website.
onX - Hunting App and Hunting GPS Maps | onX
It gives you so much information, prior to the hunt, desktop planning combined with google earth, but when you are hunting it tells you where you are within a few feet, so as to avoid conflict with private landowners/poaching.

I wouldn't go without it.

Of course it doesn't tell you where the animals are....that's down to you!

Cheers

Richard

Another resource that is pretty cool is Huntin' Fool. You have to pay for a subscription to see their magazine, but it offers a TON of information on how to put in for each state's special permit hunts and what areas are good to target, for anyone interested in that game.

For what its worth, every state in the US has their own wildlife management rules and licenses. Most states have some "over the counter" tags that you can buy with out applying. Along with those, they manage popular areas for trophy quality animals with a limited draw system. Those draw systems often have bonus points that increase your chances of drawing every year that you try and are unsuccessful. Every state is different. Some are worth building points in for certain species, some are not. Huntin' fool does help figure out a good strategy.

Also, it basically costs non residents of every state the same amount to apply and grow points as someone internationally. I am from Washington, but to put in for Colorado it costs the same as if I were from the UK (in most cases).

Over the counter tags are tough as those are the season that nearly every hunter participates in.