Article in Shooting Times

Derry

I have read a post today in the shooting times where the SGA are claiming deer have been wipped out in Argyll due to the fact you cant see them from the road. In my view this is a very poor arguement from the SGA that just because you cant see them from the road there all gone. Surely more concrete evidance needs to be carried out, i.e deer counts, dung counts, habitat impact surveys and so on. If SGA are to be taken seriously then there facts need to be correct.

Cheers
Derry

Hereford

I've been attempting a census on one of my permissions for the last three years (out of interest for the landowner) - initial findings indicate that there are many more deer than you can actually see!

Last edited:

Ray7756

I finf that hard to believe, but im sure someone on the forum that lives in that area will let us know

In winter seeing deer from the road can be an indication of "having a few deer" as the deer will come down from the open hill in harsh weather. I think these deer might not have been totally wiped out but numbers reduced to a level where a "sporting cull" cannot happen , this will affect livelihoods. These areas will have been counted regular , sometimes useing helicopters and deemed to have to many deer. The red deer of today have no friends with the powers that be . The SGA have some of the countries top deer men , guys who have a lifetime of knowledge and are on the ground all year , they know what they are talking about.

Claret_Dabbler

I have read a post today in the shooting times where the SGA are claiming deer have been wipped out in Argyll due to the fact you cant see them from the road.....
Maybe this is just an indication that they have become educated to the dangers of presenting themselves within sight or rifle range of a road.

Which in of itself begs a few questions.